Maryland's Tobacco Resource Center - Linking Professionals to Best Practices

MDQuit's 12th Best Practices Conference

February
2018

This page is currently under construction. Thank you for your patience!

 

We would like to extend a sincere “Thank You” to all our keynote speakers, session presenters, and attendees for making our 12th annual Best Practices Conference a great success!

Below you’ll find the agenda for the day along with the available presentation materials.

 

Morning Session

Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD (diclemen@umbc.edu)
MDQuit Current Initiatives

 

Katie Witkiewitz, PhD (katiew@unm.edu)
Keynote Address: Mindfulness-Based Intervention for Alcohol, Nicotine, and Substance Use Disorders: Empirical Findings and Recent Adaptations 

 

Amanda Graham, PhD (agraham@truthinitiative.org)
Keynote Address: Using Technology to Reach and Engage Smokers in Tobacco Dependence Treatment

 

 

Lunchtime Updates

 

Dawn Berkowitz, MPH, CHES (dawn.berkowitz@maryland.gov)
Updates on Maryland Tobacco Control Initiatives

 

Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD (diclemen@umbc.edu)
Presentation of MDQuit’s Annual Fax to Assist Referral Awards

 

The following agencies are hereby recognized for their exceptional record of fax referrals to the Maryland Tobacco Quitline for the contract year 7/1/2016 – 6/30/2017

 

Fast to Assist Award Recipients

MedStar Good Samaritan Hospital

MedStar Southern Maryland Hospital Center

University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center

 

EHR Referral Award Recipient
East Baltimore Medical Center – Johns Hopkins Community Physicians

 

Certificate of Excellence

Sheppard Pratt Hospital System

 

 

 

Early Afternoon Sessions
Session: Media Relations Best Practices
Presenter: Karen Lightell, BA (klightell@redhousecom.com)

 

Session: Mindfulness-Based Treatments for Alcohol and Substance Use Disorders
Presenter: Katie Witkiewitz, PhD (katiew@unm.edu)

 

Session: Meeting the Challenges of Behavioral Health Smokers: Smokers Living with Serious Mental Illness
Presenter: Melanie Bennett, PhD (mbennett@som.umaryland.edu)

 

 

Late Afternoon Session

Keynote Address: Federal, State, and Local Legislative and Policy Impacts for Tobacco Control 

Kathleen Hoke (khoke@law.umaryland.edu)