Maryland's Tobacco Resource Center - Linking Professionals to Best Practices

MDQuit's 10th Annual Best Practices Conference

January
2016
 
We would like to extend great thanks to all presenters, panelists, and long-time and first-time attendees for making our 10th Best Practices Conference a great success! 
 
Below you’ll find the agenda for the day along with the available presentation materials. 
 
 
Morning Session
 
Dawn Berkowitz, MPH, CHES, dawn.berkowitz@maryland.gov
 
Christi Patten, PhD, patten.christi@mayo.edu 
 
Robert W. Glover, PhD, glover@nasmhpd.org 
 
Lunchtime Updates
Dawn Berkowitz, MPH, CHES, dawn.berkowitz@maryland.gov
 
William Tilburg, JD, wtilburg@law.umaryland.edu
Updates on Current & Upcoming Legislation
 
Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD, diclemen@umbc.edu
Presentation of MDQuit’s 5th Annual Fax to Assist Referral Award
 
Congratulations to this year’s recipients for the highest number of referrals to the Maryland Tobacco Quitline!
  • HealthCare Access Maryland (HCAM)
  • Cecil County Health Department
 
Early Afternoon Sessions
Session A: Panel Presentation - “Local Health Departments Making Local Change and
Impacting Statewide Goals”
Moderator: Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD, diclemen@umbc.edu
 
Panelists:
Baltimore City Health Department (PPT available) - Emilie Gilde, MPP, Emilie.Gilde@baltimorecity.gov 
Harford County Health Department - Dorothy Ruff, BS, CTTS, Dorothy.Ruff@maryland.gov 
Montgomery County Government (PPT available), Public Health - Tyrone Rowland, MS, tyrone.rowland@montgomerycountymd.gov 
 
Christi Patten, PhD, patten.christi@mayo.edu
Tabetha Brockman, MA, Brockman.Tabetha@mayo.edu 
 
Session C: Panel Presentation - “Evidenced-based Youth Tobacco Cessation Programs”
Moderator: Megan Jacobs, MPH, mjacobs@truthinitiative.org 
 
Panelists:
Jennifer Hobbs-Folkenroth, BA, CTTS, (PPT availablejfolkenroth@lunginfo.org 
 

To learn more about reaching and engaging young adult smokers with cessation interventions and strategies for implementing smoking cessation treatment for young adults using social media, view this SCLC-sponsored webinar, archived here.
 
Late Afternoon Sessions
Kathleen Hoke, JD, khoke@law.umaryland.edu  
William Tilburg, JD, wtilburg@law.umaryland.edu
 
Marc Fishman, MD,  mjfishman@comcast.net 
 
Session F: Panel Presentation - “Tobacco-free Policies in State & Community Healthcare Settings”
Moderator: Robert W. Glover, PhD, glover@nasmhpd.org  
 
Panelists:
Heidi Kendall, MPA, CPRP, (PPT available) Heidi.Kendall@mosaicinc.org 
Melissa Dasch, MA, CPRP, mdasch@waystationinc.org & Janet Kravitz, BA, jfrancis@waystationinc.org (PPT available)