Maryland's Tobacco Resource Center - Linking Professionals to Best Practices

MDQuit's 9th Annual Best Practices Conference

January
2015

We would like to acknowledge the contributions of all presenters and panelists and express our appreciation for making this year’s conference a success!

 

Morning Session

Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD, diclemen@umbc.edu

Chad Morris, PhD, chad.morris@ucdenver.edu

Nancy Rigotti, MD, NRIGOTTI@partners.org

 

Lunchtime Updates

Kathleen Hoke, JD, khoke@law.umaryland.edu & William Tilburg, JD, wtilburg@law.umaryland.edu

  • Updates on Current & Upcoming Legislation

Dawn Berkowitz, MPH, CHES, dawn.berkowitz@maryland.gov 

Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD, diclemen@umbc.edu 

  • Presentation of MDQuit’s 4th Annual Fax to Assist Referral Award

Award Recipients:

  • HARBEL Prevention & Recovery Center – “Most Referrals to the Quitline by a Behavioral Healthcare Agency”
  • Crisfield Clinic – “Most Referrals to the Quitline by a Family Practice Facility”
  • Cecil County Health Department – Alcohol & Drug Recovery Center – “Second Highest Number of Referrals to the Quitline”
  • Calvert OB/GYN Associates of Southern Maryland – “Third Highest Number of Referrals to the Quitline”

 

Early Afternoon Workshops

Panel Presentation – “Best Practices in Smoking Cessation in Medical Settings”
Moderator: Nancy Rigotti, MD, NRIGOTTI@partners.org

Panelists:

Workshop“Peer Mentors to Promote Smoking Cessation in Persons with Serious Mental Illness”
Faith Dickerson, PhD, FDickerson@sheppardpratt.org

Handouts:
Testimonial Template
The Cost of Smoking

Workshop “Youth Prevention: Products and Trends among Middle and High School Youth”
Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD, diclemen@umbc.edu

Handout:
Maryland Tobacco Quitline Youth Fact Sheet

 

Late Afternoon Workshops

Panel Presentation – “Challenges, Barriers, and Promising Practices for Behavioral Health Smoking”

Workshop“FDA Regulation of Tobacco Products”
Kathleen Hoke, JD, khoke@law.umaryland.edu
William Tilburg, JD, wtilburg@law.umaryland.edu

Workshop“Tobacco Use and Cessation Among LGBT Populations”
Erick Augustson, PhD, augustse@mail.nih.gov